Psalms : The Problem of Pain

Years ago, I read a book called “The Problem of Pain” by C.S. Lewis. I walked away with many more questions than answers in the quest to answer the questions,

“If God is so great and all powerful, then why is there incredible pain and hurt in our world today? Why is there evil and sin? Couldn’t God simply just take all of this and dump it in the dumpster out back of the proverbial heavenly gates?”

As I read through the book, it was clear to me that the answer, the solution, if you will to these questions was to discover who I was as a person. I was to discover that one of the reasons that we have pain, evil, and junk in our world was because of me and the race that I am born from. I am human.

C.S. Lewis says, ““We are not merely imperfect creatures who must be improved:  we are, as Newman said, rebels who must lay down our arms.” 

Clearly, we are far from just being messed up, we are rebellious. Then, we wonder why things are all weird in our world. When we are rebelling against the God of the universe who breathes and defines perfection (in light of our free will) it would make sense that our world around us would be in utter chaos.

This next week, in our Sunday School class, we will look at what the Psalmist does to really bring clarity to the utter chaos that is happening in the world around us. We will see the character of God really shine through and we will discover God for who he is as we discover us for who we are.

We will look at Psalms 10; 13; 74; 77; 79.

 

About Chris Rollman

I am messed up guy who has experienced the grace and truth of Jesus Christ in my life. View all posts by Chris Rollman

Leave a Reply

